Acupuncture & Chinese traditional medicine


The method:

This discipline is a global and autonomous system of alternative medicine.

Created 2300 years ago, it has been developing continuously.

Traditional Chinese medicine considers each individual as a whole and is always looking for the root cause of energetic unbalance. Its main purpose is to maintain or to rebalance the Qi, the vital energy, to strengthen it, to remove the blockages and to scatter the environmental negative influences that affect the body. Therefore, what is healed is not the diseases but always the individual disharmony schemes. Disease means disharmony between Yin and Yang and is therefore frequently called ‘disharmony’. In-depth diagnosis enables to identify the trouble. This diagnosis has four steps: observation of morphology, complexion, tongue and pulse-taking followed by questioning on the apparition, the evolution, the aggravation or improvement of the disease and on the patient’s life habits. Further information is given through palpation of some areas of the body, listening to the breathing, and focused questions on body eliminations. Once the diagnosis is established, a therapeutic strategy, aiming to solve the problem, is set up with the patient agreement. Traditional Chinese medicine is using the following tools:
Acupuncture, Moxibustion, Tuina, suction pads, remedies, diet or Qi-Gong.


Acupuncture

Acupuncture consists in stimulating the energetic points situated all along the meridians channels with single-use needles. Acupuncture is use to obtain therapeutic effects on all the body or on an area that might be far away from the one acted upon, so as to bring about a stimulation through diverse ways of handling the needle.


Moxibustion

Moxibustion is a technic which treats acupuncture areas or points by bringing in heat. The property of “Moxa sticks”, made with dry leaves of artemisia (artemisia vulgaris), is through heating, to remove the obstruction of the meridians by eliminating pathogenic elements, humidity and cold, to bring back a good functioning of the organs.


Suction pads

Suction pads are glass or bamboo bulbs and are applied on various energetic points, fostering the creation of a vacuum on the skin which removes the external negative influences or the blockages in the body.


How does an acupuncture session look like?

During the first appointment, the patient is subjected by the acupuncturist to a clinic examination including auscultation and palpation as well as a detailed questioning on his medical history and health problems.

Once the examination is over, the therapist determines the global energy of his patient. Depending on his observation and the troubles mentioned, he chooses the points and which technics to use for applying the needles.

The acupuncture needles are extremely thin and do not cause much pain. If there is pain, it might be compared to mosquito bite or a slight numbness.

It happens sometimes that the patient falls asleep during the session or that he feels much tiredness later on, consequence of the relaxation effect of acupuncture.

During the following sessions, questioning and auscultation will be shorter but still necessary. In fact, a disease or a trouble evolves. It is important to take in account the presence of new symptoms or betterment in the patient.


Benefits from acupuncture

  • The most studied and known acupuncture beneficial effect is undoubtedly the removal of pain.
  • Acupuncture turn out to have a sedative effect and calming, relaxing aspect because it intervenes in the modulation of brain activity and thus has an important action on sleeplessness, stress, anxiety and certain mind troubles.
  • Acupuncture treatment helps in restoring homeostasis or natural balance of the body by influencing the endocrine (hormons), sympathetic and parasympathetic nervous systems.
  • Acupuncture can act upon the immune system and is modulating it according to the body needs.
  • Acupuncture fosters the natural mechanisms of body healing. By stimulating the points and restoring “energetic circulation”, acupuncture fosters local circulation, tissue oxygenation and regeneration, and cell repair.



Contraindications

  • In case of bleeding or coagulation problems or following an anticoagulant treatment;
  • Severe epilepsy or when carrying cardiac defibrillator;
  • Suffering from malignant tumour. However, if acupuncture cannot treat cancer,


It can relieve pain or side effects caused by chemotherapy and radiotherapy and so, improve the persons’ quality of life.


Language: Cynthia Aplerku speaks French, German, Italian and English.

Price: One session lasts about one hour. Fees for one session is CHF 130. Cynthia Aplerku is acknowledged by ASCA and APTN.

Acupunture

Cynthia Aplerku

Acupunctrice et Naturopathe

reconnue ASCA

La méthode
Cette discipline constitue un système global et autonome de médecine alternative.  Créée il y a 2300 ans, elle s’est développée continuellement.


La médecine traditionnelle chinoise considère l’individu dans son ensemble et cherche toujours à déceler la cause initiale d’un déséquilibre énergétique. Son principal objectif est de maintenir ou de rééquilibrer le Qi, l’énergie vitale, de le renforcer, de lever les blocages et de disperser les influences néfastes de l’environnement sur le corps. On ne soigne, par conséquent, pas des maladies mais toujours des schémas de disharmonie individuels. Les maladies sont des déséquilibres (le terme fréquemment utilisé est « disharmonie ») entre le Yin et le Yang. Un diagnostic approfondi permet d’identifier le trouble. Ce diagnostic se fait en quatre temps : par l’observation de la morphologie, de son teint, de la langue et la prise de pouls, puis par un interrogatoire sur l’apparition, l’évolution, l’aggravation ou l’amélioration de l’affection et les habitudes de la vie du patient. La palpation de certaines zones du corps, l’écoute de la respiration ainsi que des questions ciblées sur les éliminations corporelles permettent d’obtenir des renseignements complémentaires. Une fois ce diagnostic établi, une stratégie thérapeutique, en accord avec le  patient est mise en place avec le but de résoudre le problème. La médecine traditionnelle chinoise comprend les outils suivants : l’Acupuncture, la Moxibustion, le Tuina, les ventouses, les remèdes, la diététique ou le Qi-Gong.


Acupuncture

Consiste à stimuler les points énergétiques se trouvant sur le long des trajets des méridiens à l’aide d’aiguilles à usage unique. L’acupuncture est employée pour obtenir des effets thérapeutiques sur l’ensemble du corps ou sur une région même éloignée de la zone sur laquelle on agit, de manière à provoquer une stimulation par diverses méthodes de manipulation de l’aiguille.


Moxibustion

Il s’agit d’une technique qui traite les zones ou les points d’acupuncture en amenant de la chaleur. « Le Bâton de Moxa », confectionné avec des feuilles sèches d’armoise (artemisia vulgaris), a la propriété par sa chaleur, de lever les obstructions des méridiens en éliminant les facteurs pathogènes, humidité et froid, pour rétablir le bon fonctionnement des organes.


Ventouses

Les ventouses sont des cloques en verre ou en bambou appliquées sur différents points énergétiques, favorisant la création d’un vacuum sur la peau, qui élimine les influences néfastes externes ou blocages dans le corps.


Comment se déroule une séance d’acupuncture ?

Lors du premier rendez-vous, l’acupuncteur soumet le patient à un examen clinique impliquant une auscultation et des palpations, ainsi qu’à un questionnaire détaillé sur ses antécédents médicaux et ses problèmes de santé.

Au terme de l’examen, le thérapeute détermine l’énergie générale de son patient. En fonction de son observation et des troubles évoqués, il choisit les points et les techniques pour appliquer les aiguilles.


Les aiguilles d’acupuncture, extrêmement fines, ne provoquent pas de grande douleur. Si douleur il y a, elle peut être comparable soit à une piqûre de moustique, soit à un léger engourdissement.


Il arrive parfois que le patient s’endorme au cours de la séance ou qu’il ressente une grande fatigue ensuite, en raison de l’action relaxante de l’acupuncture.

Lors des séances suivantes d’acupuncture, l’interrogatoire et l’auscultation seront plus courts mais nécessaires. En effet, une maladie ou un trouble évolue. Il est important de considérer la présence de nouveaux symptômes ou d’une amélioration chez le patient.


Les bienfaits de l’acupuncture
  • L'effet bénéfique de l'acupuncture le plus étudié et connu est certainement le soulagement de la douleur.
  • L'acupuncture s'avère avoir un effet sédatif et un aspect calmant et relaxant, car elle intervient dans la modulation de l'activité cérébrale, d'où une importante action sur l'insomnie, le stress, l'anxiété et certains troubles mentaux.
  • Les traitements d'acupuncture aident à rétablir l'homéostasie ou l'équilibre naturel du corps en influençant les systèmes endocriniens (hormones) et nerveux sympathique et parasympathique.
  • L'acupuncture peut agir sur le système immunitaire et permet un effet modulateur de ce dernier selon les besoins du corps.
  • L'acupuncture favorise les mécanismes naturels de la guérison du corps. En stimulant les points et en restaurant une circulation dite « énergétique », l'acupuncture aide la circulation locale, l'oxygénation et la régénération tissulaire et la réparation cellulaire.

 Contres-indications

  • On a des problèmes de saignements, de coagulation ou on suit un traitement anticoagulant ;
  • On souffre d'épilepsie sévère ou on porte un défibrillateur cardiaque ;
  • On est atteint d'une tumeur maligne. Toutefois, si l'acupuncture ne peut pas traiter le cancer, elle peut soulager la douleur ou les effets secondaires de la chimiothérapie et de la radiothérapie, et ainsi améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes.

Langue
Cynthia Aplerku parle le français, l’allemand, l’italien et l’anglais.